A Guide to Setting and Achieving SMART Goals in 2024

For Personal Growth and Development

Hello Everyone,

I know we have set our 2024 goals. However, you can run a quick check on your goals to determine if they are real goals, imaginary goals, or lazy goals (LOL). In this article, I will explain how to set SMART Goals and the key things you must identify.

A goal is a desired outcome that a person envisions, plans, and commits to achieving, while goal setting is the process of identifying what you want to achieve and making a plan for reaching desired outcomes. Setting goals correctly leads to greater achievement and makes the process more enjoyable.

Firstly, while setting goals, you need to ensure that your goals are SMART.

Wait, I know you know that already, but please follow me.

In other words, they must be specific, measurable, achievable, realistic/relevant, and time-bound. Let's take, for instance, My goal is to write 144 business and personal development articles in 2024. Let's analyze this goal carefully;

  1. Is the above goal specific? Yes, it is. I'm not just writing articles, but business and personal development articles. Therefore, if you're setting a goal, you must hit the nail on the head! Be specific.

  2. Is it measurable? Yes, it is. As I mentioned, I will write 144 articles. The goal should have quantifiable metrics. If, at the end of the year, I wrote 120 articles, I know that's 83%.

  3. Is it achievable? Yes, it is. I should write at least three articles per week. If I had said 1000 articles, you know that achieving that kind of goal may be impossible. Your goal should be achievable but challenging.

  4. This brings us to the fourth factor: is it realistic? Writing 1000 articles is not realistic for me. I will be deceiving myself if I set an unrealistic goal.

  5. Time-bound. What's the time frame of my goal? 2024. It's a year's goal. You can set a 3-month goal, 6-month goal, etc., depending on the goal you're setting for yourself.

To easily identify your goal, you need to do a SELF-SWOT Analysis. This strategic planning activity helps you identify your internal strengths and weaknesses and your external opportunities and threats.

  1. Strengths - These are the internal positive traits that set you apart. They can be your expertise or past successes. To identify your strengths, you need to ask yourself these questions:
  • What am I good at?

  • What gives me a competitive edge?

  1. Weaknesses - These are also internal and help zoom in on growth areas and things that might be hindering progress. Ask yourself these questions to identify your weaknesses:
  • What skill could you develop more in your career?

  • What is holding you back from achieving success? Etc.

  1. Opportunities - There are lots of positive external opportunities in your life that can help you achieve your goals. Identify them by asking these questions:
  • What doors are open to you that aren't open to others?

  • What's something you can do right now that nobody else is doing?

  1. Threats - These are external harmful obstacles that we have little control over. The good news is that we can plan for them.

If you are passionate about achieving your goals this year and becoming an excellent individual, please run a quick check on your goals to confirm if you are good for the year. Remember to frame your goals with positive language to increase commitment and focus on the possibility of success.

Kind Regards,

Olamiji Akeredolu.